4th Annual Luxe Restaurant Awards Winners Announced

At the conclusion of March 2022, South African culinary greats have been honoured at the 4th yearly Luxe Cafe Awards.

The prestigious awards, which honour the finest contributions to the South African restaurant market, have been introduced to an intimate viewers of 100 leading market figures at the fashionable Ethos Cafe in Rosebank, Johannesburg.

Very well renowned SA superstar, Shashi Naidoo MC’ed the function in design. Even though these in attendance involved celebrated cooks James Gaag, The Lazy Makoti, Siba Mtongana and Wandile Mabaso. As well as entrepreneur Nicky Van Der Walt and his spouse and model, Lee-Ann Liebenberg.

The winners were being subsequently chosen by a team of anonymous food items critics as very well as by a preferred community electronic vote. The panel of judges was convened by Chad Fourie, Chief Decide of the Luxe Cafe Awards and Handling Director of The Hospitality Counsel.

“Over the past 9 months, the Luxe Cafe Award judges have been searching for out exemplary dining experiences in South Africa. Tonight, we have given these major dining establishments and chefs a system to glow and celebrate their culinary genius. With all the sudden changes we have endured over the past two several years, folks are now in search of out exclusive way of living activities to establish recollections with their cherished ones. And there is no larger encounter than an award-winning cafe.” Chad Fourie

General, 20-five winners ended up declared from a large and inclusive set of classes. This ranged from the Culinary Icon of the Year to the Street Foodstuff Knowledge of the Year, with the winner of the prestigious Chef of the Yr getting awarded with an exceptional BMW encounter.

The 2022 Luxe Restaurant Awards category winners are as follows:

1. Cafe of the Calendar year: La Colombe

2. Chef of the 12 months: Wandile Mabaso

3. New Restaurant of the Calendar year: Pier

4. Fashion Award: Zioux

5. Culinary Icon Award: Siba Mtongana

6. Culinary Media Identity of the 12 months: Cooking with Zanele

7. Culinary Innovation Award: Candice Philip

8. Culinary Soaring Star Award: Besele Moloi

9. Sustainability Award: The Check Kitchen Fledgelings

10. Support Excellence Award: Basalt

11. Pioneer Award: Luke Dale Roberts

12. Cookbook of the Calendar year: Web hosting with The Lazy Makoti

13. African Cafe of the Calendar year: Emazulwini

14. Bistro of the 12 months: Embarc

15. Burger Joint of the Yr: BGR

16. Café of the Year: Le Parc by Tashas

17. Coffee Shop of the Calendar year: Real truth Café

18. Great Dining Cafe of the 12 months: La Petite Colombe

19. Lodge Cafe of the 12 months: Aurum

20. Worldwide Restaurant of the Year: Ethos

21. Life style Restaurant of the Year: Tang

22. Pop Up Practical experience of the Yr: Katlego Mlambo at The Marabi Club

23. Steakhouse of the Yr: The Blockman

24. Avenue Foods Practical experience of the Year: How Bao Now

25.Wine Assistance Award: Michelle Moller – La Colombe

The Luxe Cafe Awards is designed by The Hospitality Counsel (HOSCO) in partnership with industry-leading food items critics and sponsored by OUTsurance.

Supply url